Download Safalta App
for better learning

Safalta App


UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2021- Check Age Limit, educational qualification and number of attempts here.

Safalta Expert Published by: Deepesh Mehra Updated Fri, 13 Aug 2021 04:10 PM IST


UPSC Eligibility Criteria 2021- Check Age Limit, educational qualification and number of attempts here.
Union Public Service Commission conducts examinations for recruitment to various Group A and B services in the Government of India. One of the most sought-after examination conducted by UPSC is the Civil Services exam. Each year around 15 Lacks students apply out of which only a few hundred are able to clear the exam. The exam is conducted in three stages - prelims, mains, and interview. For the year 2021, the prelims of UPSC are scheduled to be held on October 10. Those who are planning to appear for the exam in the future must be aware of UPSC Eligibility Criteria before they set out to begin their UPSC journey. The eligibility for this exam is based on Age limit, educational qualification, and the number of attempts. The age limit and the number of attempts for the exam vary as per the category of the candidate. For general candidates and EWS, the age limit is 21 to 32 years, while the number of attempts is 6 in total.  This space will cover UPSC Eligibility Criteria in detail. If you are preparing for competitive exams and are looking for expert guidance, then download our app- 'Exam Taiyari App' and boost your preparation. Prepare for any competitive exam with Free Courses, E-books, and Mock-Tests on Safalta App.

UPSC Eligibility 

The official notification for the exam carries the eligibility criteria in detail. Before applying for the post candidates should ensure they meet the eligibility criteria. As per the official notification, the eligibility for the year 2021 is based on the following parameters:
  1. Nationality 
  2. Age Limit 
  3. Educational Qualification 
  4. Number of Attempts

UPSC Eligibility - Nationality 

As per the official notification, a candidate must be.
  • A Citizen of India 
  • A Subject of Nepal 
  • A Subject of Bhutan 
  • A Tibetan Refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, to permanently settle in India 
  • A person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar), Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, and Vietnam to permanently settle in India.

UPSC Eligibility- Age Limit 

The age limit for the exam is 21 to 30 years for the general category. The official notification says"A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2021" . There are various relaxations in age limit which have been discussed below.
Category  Age Relaxation 
Scheduled Caste maximum of five years
Scheduled Tribe  maximum of five years
Other Backward Classes maximum of three years
Defense Services Personnel, disabled in operations maximum of three years
Ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and Emergency Commissioned Officers (ECOs)/ Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs) with at least 5 Years of service. maximum of five year
Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) maximum of 10 years

UPSC Eligibility- Educational Qualification 

The educational qualification for the exam is a Graduation Degree in any subject from a recognized university. The candidate who is in the final year for their graduation is eligible to apply too, provided they are able to submit their degree before the mains examination. There is no condition related to score in graduation or any other standard.

UPSC Eligibility- Number of Attempts 

The UPSC allows a maximum of 6 attempts to a general candidate. There are different rules for certain candidates, which have been covered below:
Category  Number of Attempts 
OBS  9
SC and ST  Unlimited
PwBD 10

The attempt is counted if a candidate appears in the preliminary stage of the examination.
To know more read here.
IAS Officer Salary  PCS Officer Salary   IBPS PO Eligibility SBI PO Eligibility Criteria

UPSC Eligibility - FAQ 

Q1. What is the date for UPSC Exam?

A1. The preliminary stage of UPSC is scheduled for 10 th of October.

Q2. What is the age limit for the UPSC Exam?

A2 The age limit for the UPSC exam is 21 to 32 years.

Q3. What is the educational qualification for UPSC Examination?

A3. The educational qualification is a degree in Graduation from a recognized organization.

Q4. What is the number of attempts for a general candidate in UPSC Exam?

A4. The number of attempts or a general candidate in the UPSC Exam is 9.

Q5. Do EWS candidates get any relaxation in eligibility criteria for UPSC exam?

A5. No,the EWS candidates do not get any relaxation in eligibility criteria for the UPSC exam


Recent Blog


अपनी वेबसाइट पर हम डाटा संग्रह टूल्स, जैसे की कुकीज के माध्यम से आपकी जानकारी एकत्र करते हैं ताकि आपको बेहतर अनुभव प्रदान कर सकें, वेबसाइट के ट्रैफिक का विश्लेषण कर सकें, कॉन्टेंट व्यक्तिगत तरीके से पेश कर सकें और हमारे पार्टनर्स, जैसे की Google, और सोशल मीडिया साइट्स, जैसे की Facebook, के साथ लक्षित विज्ञापन पेश करने के लिए उपयोग कर सकें। साथ ही, अगर आप साइन-अप करते हैं, तो हम आपका ईमेल पता, फोन नंबर और अन्य विवरण पूरी तरह सुरक्षित तरीके से स्टोर करते हैं। आप कुकीज नीति पृष्ठ से अपनी कुकीज हटा सकते है और रजिस्टर्ड यूजर अपने प्रोफाइल पेज से अपना व्यक्तिगत डाटा हटा या एक्सपोर्ट कर सकते हैं। हमारी Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy और Terms & Conditions के बारे में पढ़ें और अपनी सहमति देने के लिए Agree पर क्लिक करें।