By which act was the office of the Secretary of State for India?

user image

Muskan Anand

1 year ago

The Government of India Act 1858 was passed to end the rule of the British East India Company and transfer it to the British government which was the outcome of the 1857 revolt. The Councils Act 1861 was passed by the British Parliament to make changes in the composition of the Governor General’s council for executive & legislative purposes. The Morley Minto Reforms were also known as the Indian Council Act of 1909, enacted to bring a limited increase in the involvement of Indians in the governance of British India. Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms were also known as the Government of India Act 1919, which came into force in 1921. It was instituted in the British Indian polity to introduce the Dual government system, i.e., rule of two which means executive councilors and popular ministers.

Recent Doubts

Close [x]