List Of Bharat Ratna Award Winners Year Wise-List of its Awardees 1954-2021

Safalta Expert Published by: Deepesh Mehra Updated Tue, 20 Sep 2022 09:54 PM IST


Know the complete List Of Bharat Ratna Award Winners Year Wise here with Safalta. Get to know the latest UPSC Question on the topic, asked in Prelims 2021.

The Indian Government has various awards that it cofers upon its citizens. Out of those, Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award. It is awarded to eminent personalities from different fields. Every year a maximum of three Bharat Ratna awards are given. Since 1954, Bharat Ratna Award has been presented to 45 individuals including 12 who were granted posthumous awards. The list of Bharat Ratna Awardees consists of those names who have received this award.


It is important for candidates preparing for competitive exams to know these names as questions can be asked from this topic. Read this article to know the complete list of Bharat Ratana Awardees here with Safalta. If you are preparing for competitive exams and are looking for expert guidance, you can check out our monthly FREE Current Affairs Ebook- Download Now.


List Of Bharat Ratna Awardees

  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the Republic of India. The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954.
  • Eligibility: Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for these awards.
  • There is no written provision that Bharat Ratna should be awarded to Indian citizens only.
  • It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.

    Free Demo Classes

    Register here for Free Demo Classes

    Please fill the name
    Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
    Please select course
    Please fill the email
    The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science and public services but the government expanded the criteria to include “any field of human endeavour” in December 2011.
  • In terms of Article 18 (1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient’s name. However, should an award winner consider it necessary, he/she may use the expression in their biodata/letterhead/visiting card etc. to indicate that he/she is a recipient of the award.

Let us now look at the list of the Bharat Ratna Awardees from 1954 t0 2021:

2019 Recipients

  1. Nanaji Deshmukh
  2. Bhupen Hazarika
  3. Pranab Mukherjee

2015 Recipients

  1. Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee
  2. Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (Posthumous)

2014 Recipients

  1. Shri Sachin Tendulkar
  2. Professor C. N. R. Rao

2009 Recipients

  1. Pandit Bhimsen Joshi

2001 Recipients

  1. Ustad Bismillah Khan
  2. Sushri Lata Mangeshkar

1999 Recipients

  1. Pandit Ravi Shankar
  2. Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous)
  3. Professor Amartya Sen
  4. Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous)

1998 Recipients

  1. Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam
  2. Smt M.S. Subbulakshmi

1997 Recipients

  1. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
  2. Smt Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous)
  3. Shri Gulzarilal Nanda

1992 Recipients

  1. Shri Satyajit Ray
  2. Shri J.R.D Tata
  3. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous)

1991 Recipients

  1. Shri Morarji Desai
  2. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous)
  3. Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous)

1990 Recipients

  1. Nelson Mandela
  2. Dr B.R Ambedkar

1988 Recipients

  1. Shri M.G Ramachandran

1987 Recipients

  1. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan

1983 Recipients

  1. Shri Acharya Vinoba Bhave

1980 Recipients

  1. Mother Teresa

1976 Recipients

  1. Shri K. Kamaraj (Posthumous)

1975 Recipients

  1. Shri V.V Giri

1971 Recipients

  1. Smt Indira Gandhi

1966 Recipients

  1. Shri Lal Bahadur Shashtri (Posthumous)

1963 Recipients

  1. Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane

1962 Recipients

  1. Dr. Zakir Husain
  2. Dr. Rajendra Prasad

1961 Recipients

  1. Shri Purushottam Das Tandon
  2. Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy

1958 Recipients

  1. Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve

1957 Recipients

  1. Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant

1955 Recipients

  1. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
  2. Dr. M Visvesvaraya
  3. Dr. Bhagwan Das

1954 Recipients

  1. Dr. C.V Raman
  2. Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  3. Shri C. Rajagopalachari

UPSC 2021 Question on Bharat Ratna.

In the recent examination for UPSC CSE civil services, the question was directly based on concepts around the award and Article 18 of the Indian Constitution. The question was a follows:

Consider the following statements in respect of Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards:

1. Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards are titles under the Article 18(1) of the Constitution of India.
2. Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, were suspended only once. 
3. The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of five in a particular year. Three (See screenshot)
Which of the above statements are not correct?

(a) 1 and 2 only
(b) 2 and 3 only
(c) 1 and 3 only
(d) 1, 2 and 3


Free E Books