Download Safalta App
for better learning

Safalta App


Set Your Goal

List Of Viceroys Of India- Know The Names Of India's Viceroys!

Safalta Expert Published by: Deepesh Mehra Updated Fri, 01 Oct 2021 01:24 AM IST


List Of Viceroys In India- Know The Names Of India's Viceroys 
British Administration In India over a span of 200 years of colonial history went through a number of changes and amendments. The epitome of power and authority in  British Set up was concentrated in the office of the Viceroy. The viceroys had a distinct and often decisive impact on the Policies of the British Goverenment. As the face of the British Government, the Viceroy acted as the link between the British Queen and India. The Viceroy was originally designated as the Governor-General Of India.  The Act Of Good Governance  Of 1858 designated Goverenor- General of India as Viceroys. The act enhanced the prestige if not the power of the Governor-General as Viceroy.  In this space, we have covered the List Of Viceroys of India beginning with Lord Canning, the List Of Viceroys is essential for all sorts of examinations. The viceroys and the policies are important for all the examinations. If you are preparing for competitive exams and are looking for expert guidance, you can check out our monthly FREE Current Affairs Ebook- Download Now
August Month Current Affairs Free Ebook: Download Here

List Of Viceroys 

Viceroy Tenure Events 
Lord Canning 1858-1862
  • Revolt of 1857
  • Establishment of three universities at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay in 1857
  • Abolition of East India Company and transfer of control to the Crown by the Government of India Act, 1858
  • Indian Councils Act of 1861
Lord Elgin 1862 – 1863
  • Wahabi Movement
Lord Lawrence 1864 – 1869
  • Establishment of High court in Calcutta, Madras during his reign.
  • Anglo-Bhutanese war
Lord Mayo 1869 – 1872
  • Financial Distribution between centre and state introduced for the first time
  • First Census in 1872
  • Mayo College for the royal elite was set up
  • Lord Mayo was the only Governor-General who was killed in India. He was killed by Sher Ali Afridi in Port Blair
  • Establishment of Statistical Survey of India
Lord Northbrook 1872 – 1876
  • Civil Marriage and Arya Samaj marriage introduced
  • Universal Marriage Act introduced in 1872
  • Intercaste Marriage allowed
  • Kuka Movement in Punjab
Lord Lytton 1876 – 1880
  • Vernacular Press Act, 1878
  • Arms Act, 1878
  • Nationalist view – Due to High rate of taxation purchasing power had reduced.
  • Government view – Drought is natural phenomena due to which people became poor
  • Ignored severe famine and organized durbar. Proclaimed Queen Victoria “The Empress of India”
  • Abolished tax on cotton for British traders
  • Maximum age to take up civil services exam lowered from 21 to 19
Lord Ripon 1880 – 1884
  • Was the most loved Governor-General
  • Repealed the controversial Arms and Vernacular press act
  • Set up Local self-governments – Panchayats and Municipal Boards due to which he was known as Father of Self Government
  • 2 new universities opened – Punjab University 1884, Allahabad University 1887
  • Illbert Bill – Indian judge cannot try English Judge
  • Appointment of Hunter Commission
Lord Dufferin 1884 – 1888
  • III Anglo-­‐Burmese war (1885-­‐1886)
  • Indian National Congress was founded in 1885
Lord Lansdowne 1888 – 1894
  • Indian Councils Act, 1892 (Indirect election was introduced for the first time)
  • Factory Act, 1891
Lord Elgin II 1894 – 1899
  • First British Officer called Rands was killed.
  • He was killed by Chapekar (Ramkrishna & Damodar) Brothers. This was the first political murder.
Lord Curzon 1899 – 1905
  • Indian Universities act – to control Indian Universities
  • Raleigh Commission
  • Partition of Bengal
  • Curzon-Kitchener controversy
Lord Minto II 1905 – 1910
  • Morley – Minto reforms
Lord Hardinge II 1910 – 1916
  • Mesopotamian Campaign
  • Transfer of Capital from Calcutta to Delhi
  • Hindu Mahasabha was established by Madan Mohan Malaviya
Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921
  • Home Rule League Movements
  • Rowlatt Act was passed
  • Montague – Chelmsford reform was passed
Lord Reading 1921 – 1926
  • Swaraj Party was formed
  • Chauri – Chaura incident took place
Lord Irwin 1926 – 1931
  • Launch of civil disobedience movement and Dandi march
  • First round table conference was held
Lord Willingdon 1931 – 1936
  • Second & Third Round Table Conference
  • Poona pact was signed
  • Communal award was started
Lord Linlithgow 1936 – 1944
  • Cripps Mission
  • Quit India movement
Lord Wavell 1944 – 1947
  • CR Formula 1944
  • Launch of Direct Action day
  • Wavell Plan & Shimla conference
Lord Mountbatten 1947-48
  • June 3rd Plan
  • Last Viceroy and First Governor-General of free India

List Of Viceroys - FAQ

Q1. Who was the first Viceroy of India?

A1. The first viceroys of India was Lord Canning.

Q2. Who was the last British Viceroy of India?

A2. The last Viceroy of India was Lord Mountbatten.

Q3. Which act designated Governor-General as Viceroy?

A3. The Act Of Good Governance 1958 designated Governor-General as Viceroy.

Q4. What is the immediate cause for the Act Of Good Governance 1958?

A4. The Revolt Of 1957 or the First War Of Independence was the immediate cause for the Act Of Good Governance 1958.



अपनी वेबसाइट पर हम डाटा संग्रह टूल्स, जैसे की कुकीज के माध्यम से आपकी जानकारी एकत्र करते हैं ताकि आपको बेहतर अनुभव प्रदान कर सकें, वेबसाइट के ट्रैफिक का विश्लेषण कर सकें, कॉन्टेंट व्यक्तिगत तरीके से पेश कर सकें और हमारे पार्टनर्स, जैसे की Google, और सोशल मीडिया साइट्स, जैसे की Facebook, के साथ लक्षित विज्ञापन पेश करने के लिए उपयोग कर सकें। साथ ही, अगर आप साइन-अप करते हैं, तो हम आपका ईमेल पता, फोन नंबर और अन्य विवरण पूरी तरह सुरक्षित तरीके से स्टोर करते हैं। आप कुकीज नीति पृष्ठ से अपनी कुकीज हटा सकते है और रजिस्टर्ड यूजर अपने प्रोफाइल पेज से अपना व्यक्तिगत डाटा हटा या एक्सपोर्ट कर सकते हैं। हमारी Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy और Terms & Conditions के बारे में पढ़ें और अपनी सहमति देने के लिए Agree पर क्लिक करें।