What is Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India with a list of Official Languages

Safalta Expert Published by: Priya Bawa Updated Sun, 08 Jan 2023 12:31 PM IST

The official language of India is included in the Indian Constitution's Eighth Schedule. Regardless of the fact that hundreds of languages are spoken throughout the nation, the eighth schedule acknowledges a total of 22 languages as official languages. While 14 of these languages were initially listed in the constitution, the remaining languages were introduced via subsequent changes. Boost your Skills by learning: Digital Marketing

Table of Content:
Languages in the Indian Constitution
Articles on the Indian Constitution's 8th Schedule
Languages listed in the 8th Schedule
Languages in use

7 Nepali

Languages in the Indian Constitution:
The Indian Constitution officially recognizes 22 main Indian languages in the "8th Schedule" of the Constitution. These also are India's most important literary languages, with the majority of literary output published in them. According to the Indian Constitution, Hindi and English are the official languages of the nation, and they must be used by all government organizations for "official purposes," such as Parliamentary operations.

Download these Free EBooks:

Free Demo Classes

Register here for Free Demo Classes

Please fill the name
Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
Please select course
Please fill the email
Something went wrong!
Download App & Start Learning

Source: Safalta

Introduction to digital marketing
2. Website Planning and Creation

Articles on the Indian Constitution's 8th Schedule
The Indian Constitution contains a total of 12 Schedules, each of which is significant. Articles 344(1) and 351 of the Indian Constitution include the constitutional protections pertaining to the eighth Schedule:
Article 344:
Parliamentary Committee and Commission on Official Languages.
Article 344 (1):
  • The President shall establish a Commission to offer suggestions to the President for the dynamic use of Hindi for administrative purposes of the Government of India after 5 years from the beginning of the Constitution and again after 10 years from such commencement.
  • The Commission shall consist of a Chairman and other members representing the different languages stipulated in the 8th Schedule.
Article 351:
The Union's duty is to motivate the propagation of the Hindi language, to progress it so that it can serve as a communication tool for all elements of India's composite culture, and to protect its advancement by incorporating without interfering with genius, style, and expressions used in Hindustani and the other language groups of India stipulated in the 8th Schedule, and by drawing, wherever necessary or required, for its terminology, primarily on Sanskrit and Hindi.
Languages listed in the 8th Schedule
The Constitution and bill of rights Eighth Schedule have the following 22 languages:
(1) Bengali, (2) Kannada, (3) Konkani, (4) Gujarati, (5) Malayalam, (6) Kashmiri (7) Hindi, (8) Assamese, (9) Oriya,  (10) Punjabi,  (11) Manipuri, (12) Nepali, (13)  Marathi, (14) Tamil, (15) Sanskrit, (16) Sindhi,  (17) Urdu and (18) Telugu are among the languages spoken. Bodo (19) Dogri (20) Maithili (21) and (22) Santhali.  
Fourteen of these languages were originally listed in the Constitution. Sindhi was listed as a language in 1967. Following that, three additional languages were added: Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali.
Languages in use:
The 22 languages now included in the eighth section of the Constitution are, Manipuri, Maithili, Kashmiri, Hindi, Kannada, Gujarati, Konkani, Malayalam, Assamese, Marathi, Nepali, Bengali, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Telugu, Tamil, Odia, Urdu, Bodo, Dogri, and Santhali.
Fourteen of these languages were originally listed in the Constitution. Sindhi was introduced in 1967, Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali in 1992, and Santali, Dogri, Maithili, and Bodo by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.
This is the most extensively spoken Austroasiatic language of the Munda subfamily. It is mostly spoken in Bihar, Jharkhand, Assam, Odisha, West Bengal, Mizoram, and Tripura.
It is a Sino-Tibetan language that is principally spoken by the Bodo tribes of Northeast India, Nepal, and Bengal. This is the main language of the Bodoland Autonomous Region in India, as well as a co-official language of the state of Assam. It was once written in Latin and Assamese script. That language has just been recorded in the Devanagari script since 1963.
This is Nepal's main language. It is additionally spoken of in areas of India, Bhutan, and Burma. It serves as the official language of Sikkim and West Bengal in India. That language is sometimes referred to as Gorkhali or Khaskura. It has been written in the Devanagari script.
It is the official language of Goa, an Indian state. It is spoken by a small number of people in Maharashtra, Daman and Diu, Kerala, Nagar Haveli,  Dadra, and Karnataka. The term Konkani is derived from the Kukkana tribe, the original occupants of the territory where Konkani developed.
The following rules for Classical languages are provided by the Ministry of Culture:
  • A body of old literature/texts regarded as a valued inheritance by successive generations of speakers.
  • The literary heritage is unique and was not acquired from another language community.
  • Because classical language and literature are unique from contemporary, there may be a gap between the classical language and its subsequent forms or offshoots.
  • High age of its earliest texts/recorded glorious history 1500-2000 years;
The "8th Schedule" of the Indian Constitution formally recognises 22 major Indian languages. These are also the most significant literary languages in India, with the vast majority of literary production written in them. The main language of the country, as stipulated in the Indian Constitution, are Hindi and English, and they should be used by all government organisations for "official purposes," such as Parliamentary activities.

What is the Indian Constitution's 8th Schedule?

The Republic of India's official languages are listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Indian Constitution, and English is not among them. There were just 14 languages specified in the 8th schedule when the Indian Constitution was written.

What language is included in the Constitution's Eighth Schedule?

The Constitution's Eighth Schedule includes the 22 languages:
Assamese, Kashmiri,Gujarati, Kannada, Bengali, Konkani, Manipuri, Hindi, Nepali, Marathi, Oriya,  Malayalam, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Punjabi, Telugu, Tamil, Santhali, Urdu, Dogri, Maithili, and Bodo.

However many authorized languages are listed in the eighth schedule?

22 different languages

Describe the three lists of the Eighth Amendment?

There are three sections in the Indian Constitution. There are three of them: the Union list, the State list, as well as the Concurrent list.

Free E Books