IAS Eligibility Criteria 2022: Check Age Limit, educational qualification and number of attempts here.

Safalta Expert Published by: Deepesh Mehra Updated Tue, 08 Feb 2022 11:05 AM IST


Looking for details on IAS eligibility criteria? Check age limit, educational qualification, and the number of attempts here at Safalta.com.

IAS or Indian Administrative Services is the most sought after career in India. IAS is at the top of the hierarchy in 24 other central services, collectively known as Civil Services. The exam for the selection of candidates into IAS is conducted by Union Public Service Commission. UPSC conducts the examination annually and for this year the UPSC Civil Services or commonly also known as IAS Exam is scheduled for 5 th June  2022. Each year candidates from diverse backgrounds attempt to join the prestigious Indian Administrative Services.

Free Demo Classes

Register here for Free Demo Classes

Please fill the name
Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
Please select course
Please fill the email
Something went wrong!
Download App & Start Learning

Source: https://www.deccanherald.com/

Many aspiring candidates wonder about the IAS Eligibility Criteria and essential educational background. The eligibility for this exam is based on Age limit, educational qualification, and the number of attempts.
  1. There are a total of 861 posts in this year's IAS Exam.
  2. The online application for the examination process is now on.
  3. The last date to apply for the exam is 22 nd Feburary.
  4. The educational qualification for the exam is graduation.
The age limit and the number of attempts for the exam vary as per the category of the candidate. For general candidates and EWS, the age limit is 21 to 32 years, while the number of attempts is 6 in total.  Before applying for the examination candidates must ensure they meet all the eligibility criteria. And for the preferred center for the examination process candidates must apply for the exam early.  This space will cover IAS Eligibility Criteria in detail.  If you are preparing for competitive exams and looking for expert guidance, you can download our General Knowledge Free Ebook Download Now.

February Month Current Affairs Free Ebook: Download Here

Table of Contents

1. IAS Eligibility Criteria: Overview
2. IAS Eligibility Criteria
    i. IAS Eligibility Criteria: Nationality
    ii. IAS Eligibility Criteria: Age Limit
    iii. IAS Eligibility Criteria: Educational Qualification
    iv. IAS Eligibility Criteria: Number of Attempts
3. IAS and Other Services
4. IAS Eligibility Criteria FAQs


IAS Eligibility Criteria: Overview

Age Limit

21 to 32 years

Number of Attempts

06 (General and EWS) ; 09 (OBC); SC/ST (Upto age limit)

Educational qualification for UPSC Civil Services

Graduation from any recognized university



IAS Eligibility Criteria

The official notification for the exam carries the eligibility criteria in detail. Before applying for the post candidates should ensure they meet the eligibility criteria. As per the official notification, the eligibility for the year 2021 is based on the following parameters:
  1. Nationality 
  2. Age Limit 
  3. Educational Qualification 
  4. Number of Attempts
The details regarding each of these are given below.

IAS Eligibility Criteria: Nationality 

As per the official notification, a candidate must be.
  • A Citizen of India 
  • A Subject of Nepal 
  • A Subject of Bhutan 
  • A Tibetan Refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962, to permanently settle in India 
  • A person of Indian origin who migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar), Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, and Vietnam to permanently settle in India.
IAS Exam Pattern 2022: Check section-wise paper pattern and marking scheme

IAS Eligibility Criteria: Age Limit 

The age limit for the exam is 21 to 30 years for the general category. The official notification says"A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2021" . There are various relaxations in age limit which have been discussed below.
Category  Age Relaxation 
Scheduled Caste maximum of five years
Scheduled Tribe  maximum of five years
Other Backward Classes maximum of three years
Defense Services Personnel, disabled in operations maximum of three years
Ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and Emergency Commissioned Officers (ECOs)/ Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs) with at least 5 Years of service. maximum of five year
Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) maximum of 10 years

Check UPSC Eligibility Criteria here. 

IAS Eligibility Criteria: Educational Qualification 

The educational qualification for the exam is a Graduation Degree in any subject from a recognized university. The candidate who is in the final year for their graduation is eligible to apply too, provided they are able to submit their degree before the mains examination. There is no condition related to score in graduation or any other standard.

Check out UKSSSC Patwari.

IAS Eligibility Criteria: Number of Attempts 

The UPSC allows a maximum of 6 attempts to a general category candidate. There are different rules for certain candidates, which have been covered below:
Category  Number of Attempts 
OBS  9
SC and ST  Unlimited
PwBD 10
The attempt is counted if a candidate appears in the preliminary stage of the examination.

IAS and Other Services

Following services besides IAS are available through UPSC Civil Services Exam.

1. Indian Foreign Services(IFS)

2. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’.

3. Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

4. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’.

5. Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

6. Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’.

7. Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Administration).

8. Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’.

9. Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

10. Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’.

11. Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group 'A'.

12. Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’.

13. Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

14. Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’.

15. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’.

16. Indian Trade Service, Group 'A'.

17. Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’.

18. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade).

19. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group 'B'.

20. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group 'B'.

21. Pondicherry Civil Service, Group 'B'.

22. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’.

To know more read here.

IAS Officer Salary  PCS Officer Salary  UPPCS Salary  SBI PO Eligibility Criteria

IAS Eligibility Criteria FAQs 

Q1. What is the date for IAS Exam?

A1. The preliminary stage of the IAS Exam is scheduled for 10 th of October.

Q2. What is the age criteria to become an IAS?

A2  Candidates in the bracket of 21 to 32 years can become IAS.

Q3. What is the educational qualification for IAS Examination?

A3. The educational qualification is a degree in Graduation from a recognized organization.

Q4. Is Upsc Exam the only way to become an IAS?

A4. No, candidates who clear state PCS through promotion can also become IAS.

Q5. Who controls IAS officers?

A5. IAS officers serve under the respective state governments as per the cadre, but they are ultimately responsible to the central government.

Free E Books