List Of Schedules In Indian Constitution!

Safalta Expert Published by: Ojal Rana Updated Fri, 29 Apr 2022 09:35 AM IST


Check out the Complete List Of Schedules In Indian Constitution here with Safalta.

In India's Constitution, there are 12 Schedules. The Government of India Act of 1935, which included 10 Schedules, was one of the first to mention them. The Indian Constitution, which was approved in 1949, was divided into eight schedules. There are now 12 Schedules in the Indian Constitution, thanks to changes. This page will offer you with a list of Indian Constitution Schedules that are relevant to the IAS Exam from the standpoint of Indian politics (Mains GS-II). Check out the Important Articles of Indian Constitution.


Free Demo Classes

Register here for Free Demo Classes

Please fill the name
Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
Please select course
Please fill the email

 General Knowledge Ebook Free PDF: Download Here

April Month Free Current Affairs Magazine DOWNLOAD NOW

List of Schedules in the Indian Constitution

The table given below discusses the list of schedules of the Indian Constitution, important from the UPSC exam perspective:
Schedules in Indian Constitution
Schedules Features of Schedules
First Schedule of Indian Constitution It contains the name of States and Union Territories
Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included
Second Schedule of Indian Constitution The provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:
  • President of India
  • Governors of Indian States
  • Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
  • Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States
  • Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • High Court Judges
  • Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)
Third Schedule It contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:
  • Union Ministers of India
  • Parliament Election Candidates
  • Members of Parliament (MPs)
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • Comptroller and Auditor General
  • State Ministers
  • State Legislature ElectionsCandidates
  • State Legislature Members
  • High Court Judges
Fourth Schedule It contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha
Fifth Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes
Sixth Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram
Seventh Schedule This schedule deals with the three legislative lists:
  • Union
  • State
  • Concurrent
Eighth Schedule It deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution of India:
  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Bodo
  • Dogri (Dongri)
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Mathili (Maithili)
  • Malayalam
  • Manipuri
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Santhali
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu
Ninth Schedule It deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and
abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.
1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.
However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after
April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review
Tenth Schedule It contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of
This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law
Eleventh Schedule It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.
This schedule was added
by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992
Twelfth Schedule It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.
This schedule was added
by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992
Also read:  

Schedules of Indian Constitution & Articles

Aspirants should know about the Constitutional Articles related to the Schedules of the Indian Constitution. It will give them clarity of concepts and help them understand the chronology of important articles.
Schedules of the Indian Constitution Articles of Indian Constitution
First Schedule Article 1 and Article 4
Second Schedule Articles:
  • 59
  • 65
  • 75
  • 97
  • 125
  • 148
  • 158
  • 164
  • 186
  • 221
Third Schedule Articles:
  • 75
  • 84
  • 99
  • 124
  • 146
  • 173
  • 188
  • 219
Fourth Schedule Article 4 and Article 80
Fifth Schedule Article 244
Sixth Schedule Article 244 and Article 275
Seventh Schedule Article 246
Eighth Schedule Article 344 and Article 351
Ninth Schedule Article 31-B
Tenth Schedule Article 102 and Article 191
Eleventh Schedule Article 243-G
Twelfth Schedule Article 243-W

List Of Padma Awards 2022: Know The Most Recent Recipients And Other Details Here


Free E Books