List of Neighbouring Countries of India , Check Length of borders !

Safalta expert Published by: Gitika Jangir Updated Thu, 29 Sep 2022 08:59 AM IST


Check here the list of Neighbouring Countries of India and the length of borders  at

The 'Neighboring Countries of India' is an important General Awareness topic for the country's numerous government exams. The general awareness section is included in practically every government test, and the material for this section is extensive and detailed. The Static GK section is the heart of each competitive exam. In this article, we will look at the countries that share a land border or a maritime border with India. India shares boundaries with nine countries, two of which are sea borders and the other seven are land borders.India is the world's second most populous country, and it is located near the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea.

Free Demo Classes

Register here for Free Demo Classes

Please fill the name
Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
Please select course
Please fill the email
Something went wrong!
Download App & Start Learning


China, Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh are India's neighbours. India's coastline is shared with Sri Lanka and Myanmar. India has a land border of 15,106.7 km and a coastline of 7,516.6 km. Ladakh is the only union territory that shares international borders with three countries: Afghanistan, China, and Pakistan. In this page, we have provided a list of India's bordering nations as well as the length of their international borders.

Free Current Affairs Magazine DOWNLOAD NOW  

Recommended: Study for your Exams with Safalta School online to boost your preparations. 

Also check:

 Vedas vs  Upanishads 
Democracy vs Republic

List of First in India

List Of Major National Awards In India

Interesting Facts About Republic Day Parade

List of Government Schemes in India 2022


Geographic Features of India


India lies in southern Asia, with a land boundary of 15,106.7 km and a coastline of 7,516.6 km. It is positioned latitudinally in the Northern Hemisphere and longitudinally in the Eastern Hemisphere. India is the world's second-largest country in terms of population.

India is the world's seventh-largest country in terms of land area. The table below provides a brief description of India and its neighbouring countries:

Country India
Number of Neighbouring Countries 9
Length of Land Border 15,106.7 km
Coastline  7,516.6 km

India’s Neighboring countries : Along with Capital 

Here is the list of India's Neighbouring countries , along with their capital. 

Neighboring Country


Length of Border



106 km



699 km



4156 km



3488 km



1643 km



1751 km



3233 km

Sri Lanka

·        Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte (Legislative Capital)

·        Columbo (Executive Capital)

Separated by the Gulf Mannar


Afghanistan has a 106-kilometer border with India, which passes through states such as Jammu and Kashmir. Afghanistan's capital is Kabul, and the official languages are Dari and Pashto. Afghanistan is divided into 34 provinces.


Bhutan and India have a 699-kilometer border that passes through Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and West Bengal. Bhutan's capital is Thimphu, and Dzongkha is the official language spoken there. Bhutan is divided into 20 states.


Bangladesh and India share a 4156-kilometer border that includes the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram, and West Bengal. Bangladesh's capital is Dhaka, and Bengali is the official language spoken there. Bangladesh is divided into eight provinces. 


India and China have a 3488-kilometer border that runs across Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Sikkim, and Uttarakhand. China's capital is Beijing, and Mandarin is the official language spoken there. China is divided into 26 provinces. It is the world's most populous country and has the world's fastest growing economy.


India and Myanmar share a 1643-kilometer border that runs across Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Manipur in India. Myanmar's capital is Yangon, and Burmese is the official language spoken there. 


The Nepal-India border is 1751 kilometres long, spanning the Indian states of Bihar, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Sikkim, and Uttar Pradesh. Nepal's capital is Kathmandu, and Nepali is the official language spoken there. Nepal is divided into seven provinces.


Pakistan and India have a 3323-kilometer border that runs across the Indian states of Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Gujarat, and Rajasthan. Pakistan's capital is Islamabad, and Urdu is the official language. Pakistan is divided into four provinces. 

Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan The coastline that separates Sri Lanka and India is separated by the Gulf of Mannar. Sri Lanka's legislative capital is Sri Jayavardenepura, and the executive capital is Colombo. Sinhala and Tamil are the official languages of Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka is divided into nine states.

Also Check, complete list here 

Important Days in January 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in February 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in March 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in April 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in May 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in September 2022 : Check here !
Important Days and Dates in October 2022: National and International
Important Days in November 2022 : Check here !
Important Days in December 2022 : Check here !

Free E Books