What is the full form of ISRO, Check the full form, functions and more about ISRO here

Safalta Expert Published by: Harshita Pathak Updated Mon, 21 Nov 2022 08:45 AM IST


The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), located in Bengaluru, is the country's first space exploration organisation. In this article, we will be providing you with detailed information about the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).

ISRO Full Form:  ISRO is the abbreviation for  Indian Space Research Organization. India has one of the fastest-growing space footprints with ISRObeing the leader and mentor of space initiatives. Located at various locations the ISRO Has its head office in Bangalore.  Recently the company Skyroot has marked the entry of Private players in the space. As per India In the Indian Space Industry is expected to grow to 5 billion. The candidates aspiring for various examinations must be clear about the ISRO, its role, set up, latest launch and impact.  The space below has all the details related to the ISRO's full form and other information related to the organisation form the exam perspective.

General Knowledge Ebook Free PDF: Download Here Current Affairs Ebook Free PDF: Download Here Attempt Free Mock Tests- Click Here

Table of Contents

  1. The History of ISRO
  2. Operation Centers of ISRO
  3. Achievements And Plans of ISRO

The History of ISRO

ISRO was founded in 1969 with the goal of developing and utilising space technology for national development, as well as conducting planetary exploration and space science research. ISRO succeeded INCOSPAR (Indian National Committee for Space Research), which was founded in 1962 by India's first Prime Minister, Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, and physicist Vikram Sarabhai, who is regarded as the founding fathers of the Indian space programme.

The Indian Space Research Organization created India's first satellite, Aryabhata, which was launched by the Soviet Union on April 19, 1975. They've chosen to call it Aryabhata after our Indian mathematician.

Free Demo Classes

Register here for Free Demo Classes

Please fill the name
Please enter only 10 digit mobile number
Please select course
Please fill the email
Something went wrong!
Download App & Start Learning
Rohini was the first satellite to be sent into orbit by an Indian-made launch vehicle, SLV-3, in 1980. ISRO finally constructed two pre-launch rockets, the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) for launching satellites into polar orbits and the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) for launching satellites into geostationary orbits. Numerous Earth observation satellites and telecommunication satellites have been launched by these two rockets. GAGAN and IRNSS satellite navigation systems have also been installed. ISRO began using an indigenous cryogenic engine in GSLV-D5 launches of the GSAT-14 in January 2014.

ISRO launched a lunar orbiter, Chandrayaan-1, which discovered lunar water in the form of ice, on 22 October 2008, and the Mars Orbiter Mission, which entered Mars orbit on 24 September 2014, making India the first nation to succeed on its maiden attempt to Mars, as well as the first space agency in Asia to reach Mars orbit.

Also Read:

On 18 June 2016, ISRO launched twenty satellites in a single vehicle, and on 15 February 2017, ISRO launched 144 satellites in a single rocket (PSLV-C37), setting a world record. On June 5, 2017, ISRO launched one of the largest rockets, the Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle-Mark III (GSLV-Mk III), and placed a communications satellite, GSAT-19, into orbit. Following this mission, ISRO gained the ability to deploy 4-ton heavy satellites into GTO. On July 22, 2019, ISRO launched its second lunar mission, Chandrayaan-2, to research lunar geology and the distribution of lunar water.

Also read ISRO Scientist Salary 2022

Operation Centers of ISRO

ISRO works through a regional network of centres.
  • The Ahmedabad Space Applications Centre is responsible for the development of sensors and payloads.
  • Satellites are planned, manufactured, installed, and tested in Bangalore's U R Rao Satellite Center, also known as the ISRO centre.
  • The Thiruvananthapuram Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre constructs launch vehicles.
  • The Satish Dhawan Space Centre on Sriharikota Island, near Chennai, is where launches take place.
  • Master Control Facilities for geostationary satellite stations are located in Hasana and Bhopal.
  • The Hyderabad National Remote Sensing Centre has facilities for gathering and storing remote sensing data.
  • Antrix Corporation, headquartered in Bangalore, is ISRO's commercial arm.
You can also read:

Achievements And Plans of ISRO

ISRO has deployed various space systems for telecommunications, meteorology, disaster warning, television transmission, and Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) satellites, including the Indian National Satellite System (INSAT) for resource tracking and control.
  • ISRO later created three rockets.
  • The first IRS satellite was launched in 1988, and the programme has since produced more advanced satellites such as the RISAT-1 (Radar Imaging Satellite-1) launched in 2012 and the Satellite SARAL launched in 2013, a joint Indian-French mission to measure the height of ocean waves.
  • ISRO launched the first INSAT satellite in 1988, and the programme was expanded to deliver geosynchronous satellites known as GSAT.
  • Rohini, the first satellite sent into orbit by an Indian-made launch vehicle, was launched on July 18, 1980.
  • The Soviet Union launched the first ISRO satellite, Aryabhata, on April 19, 1975. 1) PSLV (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle) - This machine is used to launch satellites into polar orbits. 2) GSLV (Geostationary Space Launch Vehicle) — This vehicle is used to place satellites into geostationary orbit. 3) LVM or GSLV Mark III — This is a heavy-lifting version of the GSLV.
  • The rocket is used to launch missions to the Moon, such as Chandrayaan-1 in 2008, Chandrayaan-2 in 2019, and Mars Mars Orbiter Mission in 2013.
  • ISRO intends to launch people into orbit in upcoming years.

If you're preparing for government job exams, then you should check out these other similar articles too

Indian states and their folk dances

SBI Clerk vs IBPS Clerk

Major crops and their states in India

UPSC Full Form

Format of Informal Letter

Types and Functions of Banks in India

Where is ISRO in India?

The Secretariat of DOS and ISRO Headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bangalore.

What is the first satellite of India?

Aryabhatta is the first satellite of India.

Who is the father of Indian space program?

 Dr Vikram Sarabhai is known as the Father of Indian Space Program.

What is the Old Name of ISRO?

ISRO was initially known as The Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) and it was established by Jawaharlal Nehru during his tenurity under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) in 1962, with the urging of scientist Vikram Sarabhai recognizing the need in space research. INCOSPAR grew and became ISRO in 1969, also under the DAE.

Is India successful in Mars mission?

Mangalyaan is regarded as a successful planetary mission, particularly due to its cost-effectiveness. The Indian Space Research Organisation was able to achieve the feat at a budget of ₹450 crores ($74 million) i.e. 1/7th the cost incurred by the Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution (MAVEN) in NASA.

Free E Books